Book Review: The Christian Mama’s Guide to Parenting a Toddler

51en9lCfUeL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

As a former staff writer and editor for Nickelodeon, Erin MacPherson has been chronicling her experiences as a parent of three by blogging, and writing for freelance magazine articles and devotionals as well as speaking. She captures the best of advice from her personal experiences in this book. I related to almost every scenario that she expressed in the book as I recounted my experiences with my first three children. I now have a new toddler that is 6 years younger than my last one. SURPRISE! for me. Needless to say, it’s been a while and I wanted to refresh my memory and update myself with any new information.   The book is full of VALUABLE material. As a teacher, I loved that she shared a chapter on how easy it is to incorporate teaching a child through every day chores and other simple activities. She spoke through her book as a girlfriend would when coming over for a chat, pleasantly and humorously simple. On the other hand she enriched her text with sections of prayer and scripture to balance the humor with how the ultimate joy and peace come from God alone. She taps into several topics that bring this book from a one-time read- through to a constant reference book. Topics such as discipline, potty talk, food, daddy’s role, education, and the best to me “getting a life” (If you’re a mom you know what that means) are only some of the areas she imparts her knowledge. Definitely a must read if you need to get prepared for the toddler years or are already ready to pull your hair out!

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers