Learning Styles

My personal experience with homeschooling has been ongoing.  I have learned that though they may be broken down further there are three basic learning styles:

  • visual learners- learn through seeing
  • auditory learners- learn through hearing
  • kinesthetic learners-learn through touching, moving, or doing

At first, I was homeschooling my oldest two children until about the age of five and six. My daughter loved it. We invited friends over and they played, sang, and reviewed all the basics, preparing them for school. She absorbed the entire environment. She was mostly visual and kinesthetic. She loves having a perfect spot to sit in, with the perfect tools in her hands.  I set aside a room and turned it into a classroom for fun. She would sit and write, read, and pretty much do anything I introduced her to, always staying on task. My son on the other hand, was an entirely different type of learner. I could not get him to sit still for more than two minutes. He was very active, wouldn’t hold a pencil (his small motor skills were not quite developed yet), he wouldn’t repeat the alphabet and just seemed to be all over the place. Actually, he never really spoke at all. I struggled with trying to make him fit into my mold of what a “perfect little student” was to me. I never forced him to sit as he was younger than everyone else and he just wandered around the room doing what he found interesting and listening to us. One day, I wanted to take a break and I played an educational video that I picked up at the library. It had a catchy little tune as it reviewed the names and sounds of the letters. He whipped his little head around and then instantly sat and listened attentively to the entire video. As soon as it was over it was like everything he had ever heard from my homeschooling the girls just came blurting out in song. He was so extremely and primarily auditory (and secondly kinesthetic) that even though he looked like he was just aimlessly walking around touching stuff, he was absorbing every word, song, and lesson that we were going through. From then on, he had so much to say and do. Over the next few years we practiced his motor skills but leaned on his auditory strength using and making songs out of science vocabulary and history lessons. What kind of learning style does your child have?

