Book review: A Child’s Introduction to Tea

Children's Specialteas : A Child's Introduction to Tea by Patrick, Michele Pollard published by Dorrance Publishing Co. Inc. Hardcover

I recently had the opportunity to review the book A Child’s Introduction to Tea by Michele Pollard Patrick. She is a “tea time” and social graces educator and director at Children’s Specialteas, a program she founded, as well as a consultant teaching proper social behavior. Patrick currently resides in Maryland.

I chose this book to review because I enjoy having tea parties with my close friends and have recently introduced tea time to my own daughters. In today’s rugged American culture everyone could use a tutorial in social graces. A Child’s Introduction to Tea proves to be very informative. There were tools on her table I have not even considered including during my tea times. This book goes through the tools and table necessities for a good and proper tea time that she refers to as tea impedimenta. I enjoyed that the book did not over explain in the area of these tools and descriptions of uses but I would have enjoyed a bit more inclusive information on tea time. It would have been nice and educational to have some of the health benefits of certain teas talked over or even some behavioral tips on how to handle oneself at a tea party, ex. no slurping, sit up straight, napkin on the lap etc.  I suppose that too much information  can be overwhelming to include in a book about tea time instructions but considering the 27 pages included mostly one or two sentences each, there was plenty of opportunity to include more thorough information since she probably has so much information to share based on her experience.

My final thought on this book is that even though the book had clear illustrations that were understandable, the visuals left a lot to be desired especially for a tea time book. Tea time is considered pretty, elegant, and formal. Some colorful pages instead of what looks like pencil sketches for the visuals would have been a way to capture the eye and make the book more tempting to open more than once.

Overall I enjoyed the book for the more detailed information I received about what to include on the tea party table.

 

 Purchase or review the book here: A Child’s Guide to Tea by Michele Pollard Patrick

 

I received a complimentary copy of A Child’s Introduction to Tea by Michele Pollard Patrick as a member of the Dorrance Publishing Book Review Team. Visit dorrancebookstore.com to learn how you can become a member of the Book Review Team. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

