Book Review: American Phoenix

_225_350_Book_850_cover

John Quincy and Louisa Adams were the President and First Lady in the early 1800’s. Jane Hampton Cook, did a wonderful job at turning the lives of these two amazingly described historical figures into a wonderful story of overcoming obstacles in their lives together. American Phoenix: John Quincy and Louisa Adams, the War of 1812, and the Exile that Saved American Independence is a delightful journey through historical events gathered through the letters and diaries written by President Adams and his First Lady, Louisa Adams. Through John Quincy’s exile to Russia and Louisa’s strength to overcome obstacles while working alone, Cook wrote a version of truth that will inspire many of today’s woman, young and old.  I am not a history “buff” or a fiction reader but I was enticed by the vivid descriptions on the first few pages to read something different from my usual books. The book was so colorful and stimulating that even my thirteen year old daughter gave it a whirl! I believe you will enjoy it too.

Disclaimer: I received this book through booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed in this blog are solely my own and have not been influenced by booksneeze or any other third party

