Book Review: The Christian Mama’s Guide to the Grade School Years

Christian Mama2

I applaud Erin MacPherson for her writings. I really enjoyed this book. It is funny, practical, fulfilling, and full of good advice. Though it is not for all types of schooling moms in that it specifically deals with public (or you can apply to private) school information, it is not a “how to” on specifically getting through the “homeschool” grade school years. Despite that, the biblical references are wonderful. I also enjoyed that it was a conglomeration of several writers telling of their experiences.

Every so often there are wonderful tidbits called, “Time-Out for Mom” where she shares wonderful prayers for those times that you cannot seem to put it into words. Along with the time-out sections are “From the Principal’s Corner” giving sound and biblical advice from Ellen Schuknecht, her mom.

I loved pages 108-109 where they connected how we communicate with specific scriptures. Using these in conjunction with one another lays the truth of God’s Word on a child’s heart and in my point of view gives them the ability to follow Him and not a parent because “we say so.” The small list includes encouragement, guidance and counsel and got me thinking about how many other ways to communicate God’s Word in simple forms making it more understandable.

Another great chapter (10) is “The Christian Daddy’s Guide to Starting School” which includes stories from a few “panelist” expressing their experience in this area. I found the stories bringing quality information and humor to the reading.

This book is written with so much practically simple school prep advice that as an experienced mother and educator, I thought I was going to find it uninteresting. I was so wrong. There is so much more involved in this book, from writings from other people to biblical advice that I could not put it down. I would think this is one book I would claim to be as a “pick it up more than once guide” You definitely will want to revisit this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

 

