Book Review: Prized!

Prized!  Your Journey as His Daughter by Noelle Toscano

Prized_

I picked up Prized!  Your Journey as His Daughter for my thirteen year old daughter but it seemed to have started off in a somewhat gloomy way to me. Maybe the author is assuming that all teenage girls feel inadequate. Surely most do, but, after reading the introduction (I am referencing the middle because the first and last paragraphs were great) I think she was talking to me more than my daughter.

Most of her stories were pleasantly applicable to me coming from experiencing the 80’s.  For the older crowd it is relatable and contained many memory triggers from jelly shoes to Alvin and the Chipmunks cartoon references. Yet, that confused me because I could not tell who her target audience was from the introduction and the first chapter. On the back cover she relates the message:

“The teen age years bring some of the most difficult experience that life has to offer… Prized!  Your Journey as His Daughter is filled with relatable stories, helpful tips, and the truth of God’s Word that will offer inspirations as you navigate the wonderful world of dating, making and maintaining healthy friendships, learning to understand and relate to parents, dealing with superficiality and realizing your full potential as God’s beloved Child.”

Toscano includes a touching section on her autistic son and motherhood. Though I found this to be a wonderful addition to her book, this is not teen content, a least not a younger teen. It’s just not significant to what most are going through right now. I did however, for future reference, think that chapter five on dating is good for her reading. The author made many wonderful points and suggestions. I also thought that she gave great advice on how to pray for your parents and use self-control with body language.

Again, the content is great for adults; I totally got it, I just don’t see her talking to a teen as her listener throughout the entire book.  I know some teens may have to deal with some harsh changes that girls tend to go through during the teenage years, so this book may be perfect for them.

I loved the points she makes, and even the title, but the summary on the back should not mention this to be a teen book which does encompass younger teens, rather, in my opinion for women mothering teens to impart Tuscano’s information as it begins to apply to their teen’s lives.  I truly enjoyed it myself. Maybe I misinterpreted the reference to teens in the summary on the back cover but I wouldn’t give it to a younger teen. Despite that, it was enjoyable to me and I encourage you to read it.

Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher through the

BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not

necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am

disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16,

Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in

Advertising.”

3 Comments on “Book Review: Prized!”

  1. Sorry to have disappointed you and wasted you and your daughter’s time. I guess it is is good for you that it was a short book. I hope that you find resources that are able to encourage and challenge her. Regards. -Noelle

    • Hello Noelle,
      I apologize if my review was hurtful in any way. That was not my intent.As I went back and re-read the review, I can see how some of the statements I made may have seemed a bit self-righteous. My desire, as pointed out in Romans 12:18 “If it is possible, as far as it depends on me, is to live at peace with everyone. “Therefore, I ask for your forgiveness. Secondly, I
      updated the review to share my opinion without being overly critical. Once again, I personally enjoyed your book. And commend you for stepping out in faith to express your experience.
      Hopefully, this note will express my heart. Thank you and God bless.

  2. Thank you so much for your reply! I feel terrible that you changed your review! I mean, the Book Crash program is meant to be as objective as possible and it really was good for me to receive negative feedback.
    The book is doing well and seems to be influencing others to grow in their walk with God. Perhaps it is being mis-marketed, which was my publishing company’s part of the process, but with dating tips involved, it seemed silly to market it to women of all ages when so many of us are married with kids of our own. So I’m not quite sure where I missed the mark or how to fix it, but I know the book is not perfect.
    I wrote it out of notes from an 8 week series of Sunday school lessons that I did for the middle school at my church. I have a “storyteller” type of style when I teach and just converted the stories, experiences, scriptures, and pointers into chapters (I only sent it to three publishing companies and two offered contracts. I was SHOCKED and now I just feel super blessed!). Though the teens in my sunday school class could not necessarily relate to every story because they are not a mom… of an autistic son… nor do they use sparkly eyeshadow to match their headbands (girls laughed out loud at this!), and though they did not really know well who the New Kids on the Block were/are, they could mentally relate it to “Beiber fever” and some of the crazy styles as they evolve and change, and seemed to simply laugh at how ridiculous I was. It held their interest because they have thought about the mom they will be, and about their future as women. Perhaps it did not translate as well into book form as it did from the personality that comes from the spoken word, but I am still learning how to do this and I appreciate criticism, even though it stings, because it helps me to move forward in ways that are wiser.
    I’m currently writing something new and gearing it more towards women my own age. It is easier for me because it pours out of me more organically (as you so intuitively noticed!).
    I just wanted to affirm your honesty, and let you know how much I appreciate your apology, though unnecessary, and that I have complete peace about the negative review. It was good for me and you should know that.
    People in my life often tell me that though I speak true, I end up causing harm because in my desire to communicate what I feel is truly discerning, I am too harsh. I cause injury when I simply meant to edify. I wonder if we might have the same struggle. 😉 I will pray for you as I pray for myself, that God will use gifts of discernment for His glory in ways that are completely truthful and helpful, yet sensitive and merciful. This is a hard balance. I wish I could find it more quickly!

    Take care and God bless.
    God has used you in my life and for that I am thank you for it!
    -Noelle
    PS: Your daughter might like the chapter “Thirsty Girl.” It’s so different from the other ones and might hold her attention better. I was so happy when God gave me that revelation from a “thirsty” experience from my past. 😀