Curriculum Review: The Hands-On Equations Program

By Dr. Henry Borenson Ed.D

Can you solve: 4x-2x+3=2x+2x-x? Your child will with a smile on their face! I recently received The Hands-On Equations Program by Dr. Henry Borenson . for review which truly is a break through in the process of learning algebra. The DVD has a copyright date from 2005 so I guess I am a bit behind the times! Funny enough, I began researching algebra when I was preparing to tutor.  I found “Hands-On” to be very interesting.  I know algebra, but have never seen it explained like this before. It definitely wasn’t taught like this while I was learning algebra, not even close. Before receiving the program, I began working through some equations in a tutoring session I was leading and one of my students started drawing several triangles and squares on a line. I had no idea what he was doing, we did talk about it, but when I went through these Hands-On Equation lessons I was amazed, my student had been solving problems the Borenson way! Needless to say they really did not need help with the topic of algebraic equations!

This program came to me in a kit that included an instructional DVD and manual, a laminated scale template, a baggie full of pawns and number cubes, a catalog, an introductory workbook full of consumable lessons, an objective list, another list of verbal problems, several offers with information on expanding the program through whiteboard, black line masters and webinars, a newsletter, an introduction + 3 levels of teacher edition booklets with teaching instructions and a big WOW! QR codes printed into the work and linked to videos and online resources. I love that!

The 120 minute DVD, broken into lessons, starts with Borenson as the teacher but continues with first a boy, Eric Borentstein, and then a girl, Molly Richman, using the scale to solve the equations. They did a wonderful job explaining and proved that children can do algebra at any age! I know that my quest started when my math-a-phobic children who are creatively gifted needed help. Molly and Eric use the hands on scale to solve their equations but Molly goes on to show how to do it on paper or in her case the dry erase board. The lessons obviously get progressively harder or more complicated but I was not having a hard time following and I foresee students understanding with the same ease as they continue to practice. Borenson already achieved these awards: PracticalHomeschooling%20Award%202012%20at%2072%20DPITCL%20Award

Who would have thought that you could “play” algebraic equations??? This program is impressive and fits the needs of all types of learners: auditory, kinesthetic and visual! It is also fit for any age because it only assumes that the student knows simple addition and subtraction.  It is simple in its explanations on how to solve algebraic equations and expressions. Every school, tutor, and educator should use these methods to take the shock out of getting to algebra class in high school! But more particularly, parents who home school, like me, should not hesitate to use this with their children throughout their education, particularly 3rd grade and up. I know I plan on using it in my education center and in my personal use while homeschooling my own while sharing it with every parent as a must have math resource to purchase! Thanks Dr. Borenson, you just made our lives as parents,  teachers, and students a little easier!

“I received this program from the publisher in consideration of my
doing and publishing an honest review, which I have done above.”

