Book Review: The 21 toughest questions ..

By Alex McFarland

51DpUez0scL__SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_

This is going to sound weird but I really like the feel of this book. Literally, I don’t know what kind of paper they used on the cover but it feels great. I am not a big eBook reader. I love the feel of the pages, cover, and a physical book in my hand. This book was especially comfortable. I don’t think I have ever mentioned the feel of a book in my reviews but there you go! The 21 toughest questions your kids will ask about Christianity and how to answer them confidently is a true help when it is hard to explain with wisdom filled answers. Alex McFarland put a wonderful resource together. As I began reading this book I decided to use it as a devotional for my children. I approached the 21 questions and supporting information as a mini-lesson.  You cannot read it to the child like a straight out devotional but rather plan the conversation out. Being an educator I appreciate the organized manner in which he lays out every topic, with key concepts, supporting scriptures and quotes, incorporated stories, common questions, and fill in the blank conversation starters to help get some interaction going instead of lecturing the questioning party.  He didn’t call the fill-in-the-blank section conversation starters but that is how I used them. He also includes in the” Key Concept” area a simple and quick “Hope-Filled Answer” that allows for a get-to-the-point answer when you need a quick one. This is not a one-time read type of book for parents; I believe it is a resource you can share with your child through all of their growing stages revisiting the answers as they grow in maturity.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Tyndale. All
opinions expressed are my own.

