Book Review: Why Diets Don’t Work: Food Is Not the Problem

By Joyce Tilney

Diet

The forward and endorsements in the front of this book were already a huge set up for me to expect a lot from the text. Alta Hatcher, from my hometown crowd in Dallas, Texas, Christ for the Nation’s Director of Healing Ministries was one of the endorsers. The second was from London, England, Seed Time and Harvest’s Linda Patton. They both gave a real matter of fact spiritual endorsements that reveals tidbits of information you will find throughout the writing. Tilney also comes recommended by men of God:  Dick Mills, Edwin Louis Cole (one of my favorites), Billy Joe Daughtery, and Robert Garrett Jr.

Reading the book is just as the introduction stated, “This is not another diet plan, it’s a battle plan!” If you have ever had to deal with eating disorders or bad eating habits, as I have, reading this book is a battle in itself because you have to deal with yourself in a very real way. As you read, you cannot ignore the valuable confrontation with the reality of your physical and spiritual situation. Reading through it Joyce put into words what I’ve always felt in my spirit about eating. She illuminates thoughts with plenty of scripture that show God’s heart about why? of our circumstance. She includes many encouraging notes and personal stories that lighten the load off your mind and spirit. She concludes the book with a battle plan that guides you through getting your physical and spiritual body in order. Not only that, but she includes a chapter summary at the end that includes the scriptures and thought process of each chapter. She ends the book with spiritual food for the walk, spirit man, soul and body. Another nugget is her recommended reading list. I will definitely be looking into those. You won’t mind turning this book into a crash course to improve yourself.

Thank you to Book Crash for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

 

