Book Review: Raising Boys By Design

 

By: Gregory L. Jantz PhD and Michael Gurian with Ann McMurray

cover

 

This book carries wonderful insight about the way boys think.  As a mother of three girls and only one boy I never realized how different I needed to raise him. Being fair amongst my choices in raising him, I know now does not mean being equal among them all. According to Gregory L. Jantz PhD and Michael Gurian he needs a whole different type of upbringing than the way I raise my girls. I am seriously glad I received the insight because I did not know until I read this book the reason my son could not handle more than one task at a time or why when he was upset he would rather go to his room and think it out alone instead of working it out with someone.

Some of the great features about Raising Boys By Design are that the text contains a timeline for boys from birth to adulthood and their use of technology with do’s and don’ts for each age group, it contains advice about creating technology free rooms, Internet filters and cell phone use. All of the previous prefaced by the effects that “time on the screen” have on his developing brain.

The amount of information on developing boys is so immense that I felt there is too much to grasp in one sitting. Using this book as a reference and revisiting the information is helpful and will be a good idea in taking the information as needed after reading all the way through to get the basics. One particular favorite part of mine was “8 ways to help boys processing emotions.” It went through different tactics to help your boy express themselves safely in physical and verbal ways.

It made a big difference to approach my son in such different ways that appeal to his thought process. We knew what we wanted to have as an end result for his character development and moral standing; therefore this book came in very handy for imparting it in a way to make a better connection with him.

 

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this unbiased review.

