Book Review: God In My Everything by Ken Shigematsu

41qJYk8SOgL__SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_

God In My Everything is broken into five parts:  Rules, Roots, Relate, Restore, and Reach out. All of these components are illustrated in a tree type graph showing the basis of his writings throughout. This is great for the visual person to refer to and see the components all working together. All of the content is based on his life and what he has replicated from the monastic lifestyle. He does not set out a “diet” type life method to legalistically follow but rather a concise suggestion list on methods that have worked for him in all the different areas he talks over. My favorite and most needed section is Shigematsu’s writing on “Roots” including structuring your Sabbath, prayer life and nourishing your soul through sacred readings. He also discusses several other facets of our everyday lives and how to bring the balance into all areas.  He includes areas in the book for writing your reflections after reading his questions to sum up the points of each section. I see this as being useful in a bible study. Another interesting section lies within the wealth of references in his Notes section.  I love tapping into the background information that good authors are reading from.  I don’t believe any one book is the answer to all of our desires for balancing our lives but we must take the information and make use of Shigematu’s discoveries in this reinterpretation of how to live a more holistic and fulfilling life.

About the Author: Ken Shigematsu

To Purchase: Click here!

Review By Laura Galindo

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

One Comment on “Book Review: God In My Everything by Ken Shigematsu”

  1. […] in this reinterpretation of how to live a more holistic and fulfilling life.” Reviewer: Laura Galindo (schelastic.wordpress.com) Rating: 5 […]