Book Review: How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare

By Ken Ludwig

shakespeare

This was a tough review in the sense that I was expecting something a little different. I was pleasantly surprised as I received more than I thought in information about Shakespeare’s plays, which is good considering I am not an expert by any means. I am just starting to teach Shakespeare’s works and did not realize the depth of the content involved. I consider myself to be a math and science type. I have to say, I am enjoying the process of investigating Shakespeare more now than I ever did in high school. Ken Ludwig, gives a short chapter on the “how” of the teaching which can be summarized in one phrase, “memorize by repeating out loud.” On the other hand, he informed me of so much more than I had imagined about the stories, characters, imagery, history about the author and more. The book included pictures from scenes of the play on stage and in movies. He uses the most popular parts of many of Shakespeare’s plays that teachers can use in order to review the play before teaching it. The knowledge incurred is way more than I would have ever set out to understand myself and I appreciated all of his input, remember, my specialty is math! Reading this book has to be helpful to anyone who has never taken on these plays in a serious and focused manner.

Book Info
Author  Info

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

