Book Review: The Blender Girl

9781607746430

 

The Blender Girl: 100 gluten-free, vegan recipes

by Tess Masters

Jam- packed with recipes, this book was difficult to put down. I read through so many scrumptious ideas that even I, an amateur blender user was inspired. Tess shares recipes for smoothies, soups, milks, desserts, drinks, juices and tonics, and condiments, sauces & creams. She provides a great introduction to blenders and ingredients that enrich one’s diet and health. I was educated on alkaline, raw, and soy and sugar-free foods. She instigates proper care of a blender by sharing helpful tips on how to layer ingredients into the blender for optimal results. The ingredients seem extensive but I did like the reasoning behind them. I have a Sprouts food store close by so I do not mind getting the natural ingredients as well as the nuts she seems to put in many recipes. I was impressed that there was a healthy version of pizza, chili, mushroom stroganoff, and TACOS! For the dessert lovers she has delicious recipes like “chocolate-chile banana spilly”, “dark chocolate pudding”, and “Sugar-free no-pumpkin pie”. The only matters of apprehension are that Tess seems to use raw nuts in several of her recipes which are concerns for many. She also has extensive recipes; I don’t think I saw many with less than seven items, most have more. This does not scare me though, I look forward to trying as many as possible.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. Receiving complimentary items does not guarantee a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

