Book Review: I’m Not Afraid

I shared Lee Ann Mancini’s children’s book, I’m Not Afraid!, with my students and they loved it. This book, illustrated by Dan Sharp, is a part of a series of  award winning books about the Coral Hood Sea Kids and their adventures.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 9.49.08 PM.png

This adorable little book is full of great lessons! Based on Isaiah 28:9-10, “All your children shall be taught by the Lord…”, this book series teaches children valuable lessons about sharing, dealing with fears and more. A coworker and I shared this book with students and they were asked what their favorite parts were and this is what they said:

“My favorite part of the story is wen Suzie prays and trust God. My favorite character is Suzie!” Angel, 2nd grade

“My favorite character is Suzie. My favorite part is when she went on the roller coaster and when she prayed. I think it was very nice.” Jacqueline 4th grade

My favorite character is Rachel. She had already built up the faith so she wasn’t scared. Eden 3rd grade

“My favorite character is Suzie and I liked it when she prayed on the roller coaster so she wouldn’t get scared.” Josiah, 5th grade

These books are inspirational and create a platform for teachers and parents to open up a dialogue about what the child may be feeling about fear. These are not easy topics to introduce sometimes and having a friendly, non-invasive remedy to discuss the content can really help in discovering how some children may feel and help them realize the same about others.
Disclosure of Material: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One Comment on “Book Review: I’m Not Afraid”

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love to hear what the children say after they read the books! Praise be to Jesus, our Savior!!

    Lee Ann Mancini